2019 Watch List for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award

The Deacon Jones Award watchlist is set.

Courtesy of the Black College Football Hall of Fame

Atlanta, GA (August 14, 2019) – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced the 2019 Watch List for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award on Wednesday. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University. Former North Carolina A&T, and current Chicago Bears running back Tarik Cohen was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2016; Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall was the 2017 and 2018 recipient.

The winner of the 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be honored with the Deacon Jones Trophy during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which takes place on February 15, 2020 in Atlanta. Four finalists will be unveiled on December 3, 2019.

“There are many gifted football players competing at Historically Black Colleges and Universities right now,” said Super Bowl XXII MVP and BCFHOF co-founder Doug Williams. “This Award is a way for the Black College Football Hall of Fame to recognize these talented student-athletes.”

“The Deacon Jones Trophy is the most coveted individual award a football player from an HBCU can receive,” said BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James Harris. “I enjoy monitoring the progress of these young men throughout the season.”

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2019 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by a Selection Committee.”


First NameLast NamePositionSchoolClassConference
SolomonBassettDLLincoln (PA)SeniorCIAA
ElijahBellWRNorth Carolina A&TSeniorMEAC
JordanBentleyRBAlabama A&MSeniorSWAC
BrianCavicanteLBDelaware StateJuniorMEAC
QwynnterrioColeDBAlcorn StateJuniorSWAC
DeondreFrancoisQBHampton SeniorMEAC
AqeelGlassQBAlabama A&MJuniorSWAC
StevieGreenRBFayetteville StateSeniorCIAA
KevinGreenhowWRCentral StateJuniorSIAC
SterlingHammondDBVirginia UnionSeniorCIAA
JosephHarris, Jr.LBSaint Augustine’sSophCIAA
DevonHuntLBShaw UniversitySeniorCIAA
NoahJohnsonQBAlcorn StateSeniorSWAC
RicoKennedyLBMorgan StateSeniorMEAC
IanMcBorroughLBMorgan StateJuniorMEAC
MacMcCain IIIDBNorth Carolina A&TJuniorMEAC
JosephMcWilliamsDBGrambling StateSeniorSWAC
KerrionMooreRBWinston-Salem StateSeniorCIAA
JavenMorrisonDBAlcorn StateSeniorSWAC
JalenMortonQBPrairie View A&MSeniorSWAC
SolomonMuhammadLBAlcorn StateSeniorSWAC
AnferneeMullinsDLGrambling StateSeniorSWAC
Ju’AnthonyParkerDBPrairie View A&MSeniorSWAC
TaeylerPorterRBArkansas-Pine BluffSeniorSWAC
JoshuaPryorDLBowie StateSophCIAA
ChrisRowlandWRTennessee StateSeniorOVC
DaryusSkinnerDBWinston-Salem StateSeniorCIAA
BrandonSmithKRFayetteville StateJuniorCIAA
AustinStephensLBMiles SeniorSIAC
TabyusTaylorRBVirginia UnionSophCIAA
IsaiahTottenRBNorth Carolina CentralJuniorMEAC
DawonyaTuckerRBPrairie View A&MSeniorSWAC
De’ShawnWallerRBAlcorn StateSeniorSWAC
CamronYoungDBFort Valley StateSeniorSIAC


2019 Watch List for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hottest HBCU Sports Headlines

To Top