The Latest in HBCU Sports and Culture

Legendary coaches, players up for 2017 Black College Football HOF class

The Black College Football Hall of Fame has announced the finalists for the 2017 class and it’s an impressive one. Twenty players and five coaches have been chosen as finalists from a list of more than 300 players.

Here are the players:

  • Joe “747” Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)
  • Coy Bacon (DL, Jackson State University, 1964-1967)
  • Emerson Boozer (RB, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, 1962-1965)
  • Harold Carmichael (WR, Southern University, 1967-1970)
  • Raymond Chester (TE, Morgan State University, 1966-1969)
  • Parnell “Paydirt” Dickinson (QB, Mississippi Valley State University, 1972-1975)
  • Earl “Air” Harvey (QB, North Carolina Central University, 1985-1988)
  • James Hunter (DB, Grambling State University, 1972-1975)
  • Harold Jackson (WR, Jackson State University, 1965-1968)
  • Gary “Big Hands” Johnson (DL, Grambling State University, 1971-1974)
  • Henry Lawrence (OL, Florida A&M University, 1970-1973)
  • Greg Lloyd (LB Fort Valley State University, 1983-1986)
  • Leo “Lincoln Locomotive” Lewis (RB, Lincoln University, 1951-1954)
  • Frank Lewis (WR, Grambling State University, 1967-1970)
  • Tyrone McGriff (OL, Florida A&M University, 1976-1979)
  • Timothy Newsome (RB/KR, Winston Salem State University, 1976-1979)
  • Robert Porcher (DL, Tennessee State and South Carolina State University, 1988-1991)
  • Isiah Robertson (DB/LB, Southern University, 1967-1970)
  • John Taylor, (WR, Delaware State University, 1982-1985)
  • Everson Walls (DB, Grambling State University, 1977-1980)
And here are the coaches: 

  • Bill Hayes (Head Football Coach, Winston Salem State 1976-1987, North Carolina A&T 1988-2003)
  • Billy Joe (Head Football Coach, Cheyney University 1972-1978, Central State University 1981-1993, Florida A&M University 1994-2004, Miles College 2007-2010)
  • Arnett “Ace” Mumford (Head Football Coach, Jarvis Christian 1924-1926, Bishop College 1927-1929, Texas College 1931-1935, Southern University 1936-1961)
  • Doug Porter (Mississippi Valley State University 1961-1965, Howard University 1974-1978, Fort Valley State University 1979-1996)
  • Joe Taylor (Howard University 1983, Virginia Union 1984-1991, Hampton University 1992-2007, Florida A&M University 2008-2012)

The class will be limited to five players and one coach, and will be announced on Oct. 26. Inductees will be honored during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Feb. 25, in Atlanta, Georgia.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hottest HBCU Sports Headlines

To Top