The Latest in HBCU Sports and Culture

Black College Football Hall of Fame to award Deacon Jones Trophy

A new year of black college football is upon us, and so is a new award for the players. The Black College Football Hall of Fame announced on Wednesday it will name a black college football player of the year following the 2016 season.

The Deacon Jones Trophy will be given at the eighth annual Black College Football Hall of Fame ceremony in Atlanta on Feb. 25, 2017. The award is named after the Pro Football Hall of Fame defensive end who played for both South Carolina State and Mississippi Valley before starring for the Los Angeles Rams.

“Players from Historically Black Colleges and Universities have had a tremendous impact on the game of football,” BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James Harris said. “There are very few players who represent this Award better than the legendary Deacon Jones.”

The award is open to players at HBCUs in the FCS, Division II and NAIA levels, and the preliminary list includes 52 players. Sixteen of those nominees hail from the SWAC, 14 from the MEAC, 11 from the SIAC, 8 from the CIAA and three from independent schools .

First Name Last Name School Position Class
Malcolm Bell North Carolina Central QB Sr.
Kourtney Berry Alabama State LB Sr.
Leeward Brown Tuskegee OL Jr.
Martez Carter Grambling State RB Jr.
Tarik Cohen North Carolina A&T RB Sr.
Markus Cook Jackson State OL Jr.
Nehemiah Coward Central State DB Sr.
Detonio Dade Alcorn State OL Sr.
Jawill Davis Bethune-Cookman WR Jr.
Shawheem Dowdy Virginia Union QB Sr.
Jessamen Dunker Tennessee State OL Sr.
Leonorris Footman Alcorn State QB Jr.
Khris Gardin North Carolina A&T WR/KR Jr.
Marquis Green Mississippi Valley State DB Soph.
Trey Green Prairie View A&M QB Sr.
Derrick Griffin Texas Southern WR Soph.
Greg Hankerson Norfolk State QB Sr.
Hakeem Holland Virginia Union RB Soph.
Austin Howard Southern QB Jr.
Michael Jones Bethune-Cookman RB Sr.
Javancy Jones Jackson State DL Sr.
Mike Jones North Carolina Central DB Jr.
Carl Jones North Carolina Central OL Sr.
Javonte Kelly Lane LB Sr.
Angelo Keyes North Carolina A&T DL Sr.
Darius Leonard South Carolina State LB Jr.
Nyme Manns Bowie State WR Sr.
Dorrel McClain North Carolina Central RB Soph.
Jonah McCutcheon Tuskegee DB Jr.
Paulin Miano Virginia Union DL Sr.
Twarn Mixson Hampton WR Sr.
Julian Morgan Tuskegee DL Sr.
Anthony Mosley Southern OL Sr.
Jamarcus Nance Miles RB Sr.
Ebeneezer Ogundeko Tennessee State DL Jr.
Brandon Parker North Carolina A&T OL Jr.
Jac’que Polite Winston Salem State OL Sr.
Willie Quinn Southern WR Sr.
Marquis Ragland North Carolina A&T DL Sr.
Clim Robbins Central State DB Sr.
Chris Ruffin Miles OL Jr.
Stephen Scott Lincoln (PA) University RB Sr.
Jarvis Small Albany State RB Sr.
Patrick Smith Tennessee State WR Jr.
Guy Stallworth Grambling State DB Sr.
Victor Tabbs Elizabeth City State TE Sr.
Carlo Thomas Johnson C. Smith DB Jr.
Osband Thompson Tuskegee LB Jr.
Lenard Tillery Southern RB Sr.
David Whipple Miles QB Sr.
Chad Williams Grambling State WR Sr.
Daniel Williams Jackson State WR Sr.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hottest HBCU Sports Headlines

To Top