Ingram, Murray and Williams Up For Mid-Major Player of The Year Award

Jeremy Ingram is a finalist for the Lou Hudson Award.

Three players at HBCUs are among the finalist for College Insider’s Mid-Major Player of the year. North Carolina Central’s Jeremy Ingram, Texas Southern’s Aaric Murray and Norfolk State’s Pendarvis Williams are all up for the Lou Henson Award. 

Ingram was named the MEAC’s Player of The Year after he finished second in the league in scoring, helping lead NCCU to it’s first conference tournament title in over half a century. He scored 28 points in his team’s NCAA Tournament loss to Iowa State.

Murray was named the SWAC’s Player of The Year while leading Texas Southern to a conference tournament title and an NCAA Playoff appearance. He tuned heads in late December when he scored 48 points in a win over Temple. He went for 38 points in TSU’s NCAA Tournament loss to Cal Poly. He led the SWAC with 21.6 points per game.

Williams averaged a career-high 15.6 points as a senior, earning second-team All-MEAC honors. The 2013 MEAC Player of the Year finished his career with 1,646 points.

The only previous winner of the Hudson Award from an HBCU is Norfolk State’s Kyle O’Quinn, who won the honor in 2012. The winner will be announced in Dallas on April 4 during the Final Four.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hottest HBCU Sports Headlines

To Top