Norfolk State, NC Central Rack Up MEAC Honors

Norfolk State’s Pendarvis Williams was named MEAC Player of The Year on Sunday. ( photo)

NORFOLK, VA- The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) announced its postseason honors on Sunday afternoon. As expected, the conference’s top teams, Norfolk State and North Carolina Central cleaned up. NC Central had three-players recieve all-conference honors, including first-team selections Jeremy Ingram and Stanton Kidd.

Norfolk had a pair of All-MEAC performers, including MEAC Player of The Year Pendarvis Williams. NSU coach Anthony Evans was named MEAC Coach of The Year and freshman big man Rashid Gaston was named to the All-Freshman team. Savannah State also had two players named All-MEAC.

The MEAC Tournament will start Monday at the Norfolk Scope Arena.

Name                             School             Pos     Ht.     Cl.     Hometown
Jeremy Ingram                 N.C. Central      G        6-3    Jr.     Charlotte, N. 
Pendarvis Williams        Norfolk State     G        6-6    Jr.     Philadelphia, Pa.
DeWayne Jackson          Morgan State      F        6-8     Sr.    Bowie, Md.
Stanton Kidd                  N.C. Central       F        6-7     Jr.     Baltimore, Md.
Adrien Coleman             B-CU                  F        6-5     Jr.     Atlanta, Ga.

Name                             School                 Pos     Ht.     Cl.     Hometown
Tahj Tate                        Delaware State     G          6-4    So.    Easley, S.C.
Ray Willis                      N.C. Central          G         6-6     Sr.     Atlanta, Ga.
Preston Blackman         Savannah State       G         6-0     Sr.     Hopkins, S.C.
Rashad Hassan            Savannah State         F         6-7     Sr.     Riverdale, Ga.
Matthew Hezekiah        S.C. State               F        6-11    Jr.     Jacksonville, Fla.

Name                             School              Pos     Ht.      Cl.      Hometown
Adrian Powell                N.C. A&T           F        6-6     Sr.    Conover, N.C.
Justin Black                   Morgan State       G/F     6-2     Jr.     St. Louis, Mo.
Jamie Adams                Florida A&M       G        5-10   Jr.     Chicago, Il.
Rob Johnson                 Norfolk State       F         6-8     Sr.    Roswell, Ga.
Austin Witter                  N.C. A&T          G/F     6-8     Sr.     Princeton Junction, N.J.

Name                             School               Pos     Ht.     Cl.     Hometown
Rashid Gaston              Norfolk State  F         6-8     Fr.     Warren, Ohio
Patrick Cole                 Coppin State     G         6-5     Fr.     Newark, N.J.
Bruce Beckford             N.C. A&T        F         6-7      Fr.     Silver Spring, Md.
Deron Powers               Hampton           G         5-11    Fr.     Williamsburg, Va.
Darryl Palmer                 S.C. State          F         6-7     Fr.     Summerville, S.C.

Coach of the Year: Anthony Evans, Norfolk State
Player of the Year: Pendarvis Williams, Norfolk State

Rookie of the Year: Deron Powers, Hampton
Defensive Player of the Year: Austin Witter, North Carolina A&T

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hottest HBCU Sports Headlines

To Top